Kuro Kishi (KK)21

See Xant for a nicer version!

https://xantandminions.wordpress.com/2016/10/25/black-knight-chapter-21/

Hiya! I was busy this whole week, and my phone also got screwed up…

I also have not had time to create an epub/pdf… I may not actually do it, so sorry to all the lazy people who don’t want to/can’t do it themselves… Sigil is the Epub editor I was going to use, but I just learned that some of the Epubs I made for myself had problems on mobile. I guess Sigil’s automation does not fully cover Epub specifications…

As a sacrificial offering to the masses, I offer the next chapter of Black Knight, unedited.

Pester Xant’s editors to get started with editing it, since I have had this done for around a month… If editing has not started by the end of the month of October, then I will probably start posting KuroKishi chapters, instead of giving it Xant‘s group (To Xant: I still enjoy the work you do with Kuma and Boundary Labrynth though)…

TL;DR: I was busy. No EPUB or PDF coming from me anymore, sorry. I have this unedited chapter of KuroKishi, and I will start posting here if Xant takes too long. (please read the full TN if you want to comment on something about the TN)

For those who don’t know, Yuusha yori Saikyou na KuroKishi is  Black Knight who was Stronger than the Hero.

For now, you get the unedited form, with interleaved raw and english, and fake html tags! Please comment if you have any edits!

第21話 各隊と予選・1日目、剣士隊

Chapter 21 – First day of preliminaries, Swordsman Corps

・とある一般客席

In the General Audience Seating

 

 現在私はクロードとアリス、そしてアリスの友達3人と並んで剣士隊の予選を観戦していた。

Right now, I am sitting with Claude, Alice, and Alice’s three friends, watching the swordsman corps preliminaries.

 

「お、あの金髪女剣士なかなかやるな」

“That blonde swordswoman is doing well.”

 

「分かる? 彼女今年入隊したばかりらしいけど、才能があるみたいで。あっという間に班長になったんだよ」

“You could tell? Though she had only enlisted this year, she has talent. She became a squad captain in the blink of an eye.”

 

「確かに、中々の身のこなし。変なクセも無いようですし、まだまだ伸びますね」

“Certainly, she is quite agile, and she has no strange habits, so she has much room to grow.”

 

「「「………」」」

“”… …””

 

 目の前で行われている剣士隊の試合を観戦しながら、私とクロードとアリスが一人の女剣士を誉める。

While watching the swordsmen corps’s matches, Claude, Alice and I complimented one of the swordswomen.

 

 その横でアリスの友達3人は黙って観戦していた。

Beside us, Alice’s three friends watched silently.

 

 石化から回復した彼女達に挨拶をした後、ずっとこの状態で観戦している。

After recovering from their stupor, they greeted me, then sat watching the match like that.

 

 出来れば話したいんだけど。

Even though it was fine for them to talk.

 

「しかし黒、黒騎士姿で片手に菓子持って観戦とか、明らかに可笑しいだろう……」

“However, the sight of the Black-, Black Knight spectating while holding a sweet in one hand is clearly strange.”

 

 隣でクロードが私の今の状態を見ながらしみじみ言った。

Claude, who was beside me, spoke calmly while glancing at my circumstances.<q>change circumstances to something less literal and more colloquial?</q>

 

 クロードは外で私を呼ぶときは『黒』と呼ぶ。

When Claude talks to me outside, he calls me Black.<q>change to kuroi? Kuroi sounds more name-like to me… </q>

 

 確かに厳つい鎧姿で、甘いポロンの実のクレープを食べていたら可笑しいと思うよね普通。

It would certainly be normal to think that a grim armor-clad figure eating a sweet crepe was a strange sight.

 

 私はクレープに噛り付く。

I bite into the crepe.

 

「良いだろ、運動したらつい甘い物食べたくなるんだよ」

“It’s fine, right, to eat something sweet after exercising.”

 

 疲れた時には甘い物って言うし。

Sweets are for when one is tired.<q>dbl check</q>

 

「それに、クロードに言われなくても分っている」

“Besides, Even if you don’t say it, Claude, I get it.”

 

 モグモグ食べながら自覚している事を伝える。

While chewing, I conveyed my self-awareness.<q>weird way to word it, “I conveyed my understanding”?</q>

 

「お前、開き直ってんだな……て言うか、俺お前が菓子好きだって初めて知ったんだけど」

“You are being defiant, are you… I have just now found out how much you like sweets.”

 

 クロードが呆れながら言った。

Claude said with amazement.

 

「フフ、黒騎士様は月に2・3回は商店街に出て、よくスイーツ巡りをしていらっしゃりますよ」

“Fufu, Black Knight-sama goes to the shopping district 2-3 times a month, going around for good sweets.”

 

 アリスがほほ笑みながら言った言葉に、私とクロードはそれぞれ別の意味で驚いた。

When Alice said those words with a smile, Claude and I were both surprised, but for different reasons.

 

「ちょっ!? アリスなんで知ってんの!?」

“What!? How does Alice know!?”

 

「は? コイツ休日そんなことしてんのかよ!?」

“Huh? This guy does this sort of thing on rest days!?”

 

 その反応を見てもアリスはニッコリしている。

Even upon seeing those reactions, Alice smiled sweetly.

 

 いや、ちょっと待って。

Wait a minute…

 

 私が休日商店街に一人で出かける事は知ってて当然だけど、城を出る時は鎧姿で、城から離れて人けがない所で鎧装着を解除して、鎧の下に着ていたローブ姿でカフェに入っているから知られていないはず!

It was natural for her to know that I go to the shopping district alone on my rest days, but she shouldn’t know that when I leave the castle, when there is nobody around, I dispel my armour and visit a café in a robe!<h>Ninja Meido!</h>

 

「黒騎士様、あの程度の変装で誤魔化せるほど、私は甘くありませんよ」

“Black Knight-sama, that level of disguise isn’t enough to fool me!”

 

 そのニコニコ笑顔で言うアリスの言葉に冷や汗が流れた。

Alice’s smiling face and her words caused a cold sweat to run down my back.

 

 やっぱり城の使用人さん怖い!

The castle’s servants are truly frightening!<q>No WiFi where I’m translating: Is this a jojo reference? I only know an English translation, and vaguely…</q>

 

「おっお前…変装してまで菓子食いたいのかよ…」

“Y-You… you like sweets to the point that you would put on a disguise…?”

 

 クロードは肩を震わせ、必死に笑いを堪えながら、からかってきた。

Claude’s shoulders shook as he held in his laughter, making fun of me.

 

 それに

Besides…

 

――――ブチッ!

–Buchi!

 

――――ベシッ!

–Beshi!

 

「いでっ!」

“Oh no!”

 

 キレた私は、素早くガントレッドを外し、平手でクロードの後頭部を引っ叩く。

Snapping, I dispelled my gauntlet and hit Claude on the back of the head with my palm.

 

 それに声を上げるクロード。

Claude raised his voice.

 

「黒、何すんだ!」

“Kuroi, What was that for!”

 

「うっさい! 私の秘かな楽しみを笑うな!」

“Shut up!<q>I’m assuming this is urusai</q> You are making fun of my secret pleasures!<q>guilty pleasures?</q>”

 

「秘かとか、騎士隊長様が何みみっちい事してんだよ!」

“Me aside, for the Knight Commander-sama to have things such as secrets!”<q>dbl check, it’s  a sentence fragment.</q>

 

「しょうがないだろ! 鎧姿だったら、他の客が落ち着けないだろが!」

“It can’t be helped! If I wore armour, the other customers wouldn’t be able to stay calm!”

 

「まて! その言い方だと鎧姿で入って、客が落ち着いて居られるんだったら入るつもりなのか!?」

“Wait!<q>romaji:mate?</q> If an armoured figure spoke like that entered, the customers would definitely stay calm!”<q>Did I miss a negative?</q>

 

「当然だ。出来ればケーキを食べながら、いろんな人達と交流を持ちたい!」

“Of course. If I could, I would hold a conversation with various people while eating cake!”

 

「想像するだけで逃避したくなる!!」

“It’s just a flight of fantasy!!”<q>More colloquial: “dream on!”?</q>

 

 それから私とクロードは、周りの観客達やアリス達がいつの間にか距離を取っている事にも気づかず、言い争いを続けていた。

After that, Claude and I continued to quarrel, not noticing that the surrounding spectators, including Alice and the others, had  distanced themselves from us.

 

**********

**********<h>Alice’s? POV</h>

 

「あ~ぁ、また始めたのか、黒の旦那とクロード」

“Aah, they’re at it again, Kuroi-danna<q>To localize it: Sir Kuroi? Previous chapters seem to have used Sir Knight (Byron that shopowner guy), but not sure if it’s the same</q> and Claude…”

 

「ハハ! 相変わらず仲が良いな!」

“Haha! They’re as close as ever!”

 

「この間なんて、商店街の噴水広場でやってたわ」

“The other day, they did this at the fountain plaza at the commercial district.”

 

「これは後30分は止まらないわね」

“They went on for more than half an hour, didn’t they…”

 

 黒騎士様とクロードさんのやり取りを、慣れた様子で観察している平民の方々。

The townspeople have now gotten used to Black Knight-sama and Claude-san quarreling here and there.

 

 中には微笑ましく見守っている方も居ます。

There were even some who just watched them pleasantly.

 

 それほど彼らにとって、見慣れた光景でした。

It was a common sight for them.

 

「え? ちょっと、アレ見て誰も驚かないの?」

“Eh? Wait a minute. Nobody is surprised by that?”

 

 そんな中、戸迷いながら声を出すカレン。

Among them, Karen let out a confused voice.

 

 その横には同じようにオロオロしているローナとアーシェ。

Beside her, Lorna and Ashe were similarly confused.

 

「おや? アンタ達知らないのかい?」

“Oh? You guys don’t know?”

 

 彼女達の反応に近くにいた、ふくよかで優しそうなおばさんが話しかけてきました。

Upon seeing their reactions, a plump, but gentle-looking old lady near them addressed them.

 

 茶色い髪を後ろで束ね、深緑色のシャツの上に茶色いショール、茶色いロングスカートを着ていた。

She had brown hair tied a bun behind her, and wore a dark green shirt with a brown shawl, and a brown long skirt.

 

 その人の声に反応して、3人は彼女の方を向く。

Reacting to the voice, the three people turned towards her.

 

「黒の旦那が『ファフニール』を退治してくれたすぐ後から時々見るようになった光景でね、初めはそりゃ驚いて大事になるんじゃないかと思ったが、思う存分言いあった後、何事もなく仲直りして、仲良く雑談しだしたから、その光景を見ていた皆脱力したもんさ!」

“After Mister Kuroi<q>consistency needed, experimenting</q> slew Fafnir, this scene became common. At first, we were surprised, and thought: ‘This is a big deal,’ but after they spoke their mouths off, they made up as if it were nothing, and started chatting peacefully. Everybody has seen it happen until we’ve almost become sick of it!”

 

 その光景を思い出したのでしょう、苦笑しながら言っています。

She smiled bitterly, possibly recalling the scene, as she spoke.

 

「それからは商店街で良く見るようになって、今じゃ皆微笑ましく眺めているよ!」

“After that, we saw it often, so now, everybody just looks on warmly!”

 

 その言葉を3人は呆気に取られながら聞いています。

The three girls listened to her words, astonished.

 

「あの金髪の方の事、皆様よくご存じなんですね」

“About that blond haired person, what does everybody think of him?”

 

 アーシェがおばさんに尋ねます。

Ashe asked the old lady.

 

「ああ、皆良く知ってるよ? バイロンさんが皆に紹介してね、黒の旦那の友人って事で皆すぐに馴染んだよ! 凄くいい子でね、娘達にも人気があるんだ!」

“Oh, do we know him? Byron-san introduced him to everybody, then we all immediately got to know Mister Kuroi’s<q>I’m not keeping this consistent at all…</q> friend! An incredibly good boy, he is. All the girls are interested in him!”

 

 あら? 何でしょう? ちょっとさっきの言葉でムッとしてしまいました。

‘Huh? What’s this? Wait a minute. Those words just now ended huffily.’ <q>??? one of the three girls’ thoughts, i think…</q>  

 

 確かにクロードさんは素敵な方です。

Certainly, Claude-san looks dreamy.

 

 ですから娘さん達が放っておくはず無いと分っていたのですが。

So the girls would not leave him alone, I understand… <q>Not sure who the heck is speaking…</q>

 

「うん、なかなか見ごたえあるな剣士隊」

“Un. It sure was worth seeing the swordsman corps.”

 

「だな~」

“I know, right.~”

 

「「「………」」」

“”… …””

 

 言い争いを始めてから約30分、何事も無かったかのように観戦を再開したお二人。

After arguing for half an hour, the two people resumed watching the matches as if nothing happened.

 

 その様子をポカーンと見ている3人。

The three people watched on, wide eyed.<h>sfx: pokan!</h>

 

 他の方々は、言い争いが終わったのを確認して元の席に戻り観戦を再開しています。

The other people, upon seeing that the quarrel ended, returned to their original seats, and resumed watching the match.

 

 元通り辺り一面歓声が響いています。

All around them, cheers were heard as  before. <q>I slipped into past tense. Must fix, maybe…</q>

 

「ほら、心配いりませんでしたでしょ?」

“Hey, is nobody worried?”

 

「ん? どうしたのアリス?」

“Hmm? What is it, Alice?”

 

 私の言葉が聞こえたらしく、黒騎士様が聞いてこられました。

If my words weren’t heard, Black Knight-sama heard something.<q>???</q>

 

「いえ、御2人の遣り取りを見いて心配されていましたので」

“No, it’s nothing, I was just worried when I saw you two arguing.”

 

 その言葉を聞いて納得したようにうなずく黒騎士様。

Hearing my words, Black Knight-sama nodded in understanding.

 

「ああ、すまない。何時もの事だから気にしないで」

“Ah, sorry about that. It happens occasionally, so don’t mind it.”

 

 と何事もないように言った黒騎士様。

Black Knight-sama said it as if it were nothing.

 

 しかし、これは慣れなければ無理かと。

However, it is impossible to get used to that.

 

「く、黒騎士様は、平民の方々と親しいのですね……」

“Bla-, Black Knight-sama is close to the commoners aren’t you…”

 

 ローナが引きつりながら質問をする。

Lorna remarked with a cramped face.

 

「ああ、もともと私も平民だし、国を守る者として色々な人と交流を行うのは当然だ」

“Ah, well, I was also originally a commoner, so it is natural for me to mingle with the various people as a protector of the country.”

 

 これを聞き驚いたようにカレンが質問する。

Hearing that, Karen asked, astonished:

 

「こっ公爵様が平民とですか?」

“Du-duke-sama is a commoner?”

 

 黒騎士様はその言葉を聞いて、首をかしげる。

Black Knight-sama heard this, and tilted her head.

 

「公爵は関係ないだろう? 大体、貴族とは国の民のために尽くすものだ。だからこそ私は、貴族とか平民関係なく色々な人達と交流をするのがとても大切な事だと思っている。同時に私と言う人間を知ってもらう為に行っている事だ。何も可笑しい事は無いと思うが?」

“I have nothing to do with a duke? In essence, the nobles are supposed to serve the citizens. That is why I mingle with various people, regardless of whether they be commoners or nobles. I believe that is extremely important. At the same time, I can understand other people. There shouldn’t be anything strange about that, don’t you think?”

 

「……お前がそういう考えだから、一部の貴族に目の敵にされてんだろ」

“… It’s because you think like that, that some of the nobles are you enemies.”

 

 黒騎士様の言葉に、クロードさんが言いました。

Claude-san responded to Black Knight-sama’s words.

 

 黒騎士様の考えは今までの貴族のあり方を変えるものだと私は思っています。

I believe that Black-Knight-sama’s thoughts will change how the nobles do things.

 

 兄上も平民から男爵の地位になった者ですが、地元の方々とはもともと親しい関係にあったので、貴族より平民びいきの貴族です。

Though elder brother was a commoner before he was conferred baronhood, since he still treats the people in his hometown like equals<q>closely?</q>, rather than a full noble, he is more like a commoner noble.

 

 ですが黒騎士様は、貴族も平民も関係ない国の人として平等に接しています。

On the other hand, Black Knight-sama, as somebody from a country without the distinctions between nobles and commoners, treats everybody equally.

 

 その行いがクロードさんの言うとおり、一部の貴族の反感を買ってしまっていますが、私もこの考えに賛同しています。

Just as Claude-san said, she had provoked the animosity from a faction of the aristocracy, but I agree with her way of thinking.

 

 その考えを聞いて3人は黙って何とも言えない顔をしています。

Hearing those thoughts, those three were speechless, with flabbergasted expressions

 

 3人共まだ理解できないという顔です。

Their incomprehension could be seen on their faces

 

 頭が固いと言うか何と言うか。

How dense, or rather, clueless.<q>not right… I know it is complaining about how Chie is dense, but…</q>

 

「私、何か変な事言ったか?」

“Um, did I say something strange?”

 

「お前は今のままでいいよ」

“You are fine as you are right now.”

 

「は?」

“Huh?”

 

 黒騎士様の問いに、クロードさんが左手を黒騎士様の右肩に乗せ言いました。

At Black Knight-sama’s question, Claude-san put his left hand on Black Knight-sama’s right shoulder and spoke.

 

 黒騎士様は訳が分らない様子で首をかしげます。

Black Knight-sama tilted her head, puzzled.

 

 そんな黒騎士様を見て、私も今のままの黒騎士様でいて貰いたいと強く思うのでした。

Looking at that Black Knight-sama, I strongly believe that the Black Knight-sama as she is now is good.<q>dbl check second part.</q>

 

・時は流れて、決勝戦グラウンド

After a while, Tournament finals grounds.

 

 僕、アデルバート・アバークロンビーは、決勝戦の相手である現剣士隊副隊長と向き合っている。

I<h>He uses boku, for anybody who cares</h>, Adelbert Abercrombie, am facing the vice captain of the Swordsmen Corps in the finals.

 

 赤毛の短髪で僕にはほど遠いがなかなか綺麗な顔をした、身長185クアメイト位の長身男。

He has short red hair. and though it is far from mine, he has a fair face, and stands about 185 kuameito<h>The in-universe equivalent unit of centimeter. see ch 4 and ch 8 for past usage.</h>.

 

 銀色のプレートメイルに身を包み、大剣タイプの木剣をもっている。

He had golden plate mail, and a greatsword type wooden sword.

 

 体格は大剣を使うだけあって、ガッシリしている。

Since he uses greatswords, he had a firm body.<h>ripped body?</h>

 

 空はすっかり暗くなり、魔導師が『ライトリー』で辺りを明るくしている。

The sky had turned dark, so the magicians illuminated the area with “Lightly”<q>is this Engrish?</q>.

 

 つい先刻、一般観客席の方が騒がしい様だったが、何かあったのだろうか?

A while back, there was commotion in a section of the general audience seating. Did something happen?

 

「それでは両者、構え!」

“Now, contestants get ready!”

 

 審判が構えるように言われ、僕達は両手で木剣を持ち、前に構える。

At the referee’s call, we held our wooden swords in front of us with both hands.

 

「それでは……始め!」

“Then… Begin!”

 

――――ダッ!

‘Gatsu!’

 

 合図と共に僕達は同時に踏み込んだ。

At the signal, we simultaneously stepped forward.

 

 大きく木剣のぶつかる音が辺りに響く。

The sound of the large wooden swords clashing resounded through the surroundings.

 

 4年前に比べて少しだが剣筋が鋭くなった様だ。

Compared to four years ago, his swordplay had become slightly more agile.

 

「へ~、ディーン、君少しは良くなったみたいだね」

“Heee, Deen, It seems you have gotten a bit better, haven’t you?”

 

「そう思って貰えて光栄です!」

“I am honoured that you think that!”

 

 そう言うと剣士隊副隊長…ディーンが押し返す。

With those words, the vice-captain of the swordsman corps… Deen, pushed back.

 

 押されると同時に、自分で後ろに飛び、距離をとった。

When he pushed back, I was sent flying backwards.

 

「私も騎士隊長に鍛えて貰っていますからね。少しは強くなっていないと、騎士隊長に怒られます」

“I have also trained to become the captain of the swordsmen corps. If I didn’t get a little bit stronger, the Knight Commander would scold me.”

 

 距離を取り構えたディーンが言った言葉に、無性に腹が立った。

I took offense at the words Deen, who was taking some distance, spoke.

 

 あの黒騎士が現れてから早半年。

It will soon be half a year since that Black Knight appeared.

 

 突然現れたアイツは、いきなり騎士隊長兼皇族専属騎士になった。

He appeared suddenly, and  suddenly became the knight captain,<h>knight captain or commander? I can’t remember, and Yuusha no Oshishou-sama uses captain…</h> and also the imperial family’s exclusive knight.

 

 それだけでなく公爵の地位と真っ赤なマントを授かり、大貴族である僕よりも上の地位になったのを見て、僕のプライドはズタズタにされた。

Not only that, but when I saw that he was given the title of Duke and the scarlet mantle, which even was a higher status than prominent nobles like me, my pride was torn to shreds.

 

 だから初めて対面したとき、アイツに嫌みを言い自分の立場を分からせようとしたんだが、それが失敗だった。

That is why, when I first met that person, it was understandable that I acted disagreeably, but that was my mistake.

 

 黒騎士は握っていた手を素早く離し、見えないスピードで僕の顔面を殴り飛ばした。

The Black Knight’s hand quickly separated from mine, and with a speed that made it imperceptible, she knocked me off my feet.,

 

 何が起きたのか分からなかった。

I didn’t understand how it happened.

 

 だって帝国軍剣士隊隊長のこの僕が避けられないなどあり得ない事だったからだ。

For me, captain of the Imperial Army’s Swordsman Corps<q>my capitalization is inconsistent, i think</q>, to be unable to avoid it, it was impossible.

 

 だが、信じられない事は続いた。

So, I continued to disbelieve it.

 

 その後、ブランドンとアドルフまでやられたのだ。

After that, even Brandon and Adolf also attacked.

 

 悪い夢だと思いたくなった。

I thought it was a nightmare.

 

 その時僕の目に映った黒騎士は、化け物にしか見えなかった。

At the time, I could only see the Black Knight as a monster, nothing more.

 

 近づいて来た黒騎士に、情けない声を上げ逃げ腰になってしまった。

When the Black Knight approached me, I pathetically let out a yelp and prepared to flee.

 

 そして黒騎士は僕の胸ぐらを掴み怒鳴りつけ来た。

Then, the Black Knight grabbed my collar and yelled at me.

 

 正直、初めての体験だった。

Frankly, that was my first experience with him.

 

 大貴族に生まれた僕は、今まで負けたことも無く、人の上に立つのが当然の人間だと思っていた。

Born as a prominent noble, I was never defeated, so I thought it was normal for me to stand above others.

 

 父上や母上にもそう教えられてきた。

Father and Mother taught me that.

 

 だがそんな僕に黒騎士は、すごい剣幕で怒鳴りつけてきた。

However, that Black Knight yelled at me angrily.

 

 あんな恐怖は初めてだった。

It was the first time I felt such fear.

 

 そして何より驚いたのは、

So what surprised me most was:

 

『私の問題にコンラットは関係ないだろう!!』

‘Conrad is unrelated to the problem between us!!’

 

 と、この言葉は衝撃受けた。

Those words shocked me.

 

 自分の事をガマンして他人の為に怒る事の意味が分からなかった。

I didn’t understand why he would be so magnanimous about his matters, but get angry for somebody else.

 

 その後『アホ剣士』何て不名誉な呼び名をつけられ、僕はアイツがますます嫌いになった。

After that, I was called the shameful nickname “Stupid Swordsman”. I grew to dislike that guy more and more.

 

 居なくなってしまえばいいと本気で思った。

I honestly thought that it would be good if he didn’t exist.

 

 だがそんな僕とは違い、周りは黒騎士に惹かれていった。

However, unlike me, everybody else was charmed by the Black Knight.<h>I really want to put “attracted to”… for a fake harem sense</h>

 

 部下達は黒騎士にアドバイスを真剣に聞いて日々鍛錬にいそしんでいた。

My subordinates all heeded the Black Knight’s advice, and worked hard training every day.

 

 そして極めつけは誘拐事件騒動。

Then came the investigation of the kidnapping incident.

 

 2年も進展が無かったこの事件をたった約1ヶ月で解決してみせ、国の軍総出でも勝てるか分からないと言われるドラゴンを、たった1人で倒した。

She, all by herself, resolved the problem which took us 2 years in around a month, and slew a dragon that even the whole army may have been unable to defeat.

 

 無茶苦茶過ぎる。

It surpassed the realm of absurd.

 

 その一見で僕は黒騎士を、認めざるをえなくなった。

At that point, I began to recognize him.

 

 認めてはやった、だが!

I recognized him, But!

 

「はぁっ!」

“Haah!”

 

 僕は一気にディーンに斬りかかる。

I attacked Deen in one breath.

 

「ぐっ!?」

“Guh!?”

 

 衝撃に耐え切れず思わずバランスを崩しそうになるディーン。

Trying to bear the force of the attack, Deen accidentally lost his balance.

 

 それに構わず、僕は斬りつける。

Without minding it, I slashed at him.

 

 色々な角度から僕は高速で木剣を振るった。

I struck at him in various angles.

 

 ディーンは確かに強くなったが、僕より弱い事には変わりない。

Though Deen was certainly strong, he was still weaker than me.

 

 それにこの試合勝たなければ、黒騎士と戦えない。

Besides, if I won this match, I would fight the Black Knight.

 

 認めてはいるが、やっぱりアイツは嫌いだ!

I have recognized him, but I still hate that guy!

 

 子供っぽいプライドだと自覚はしているが、アイツをねじ伏せたいと心から思っている。

I know that it is a childish pride, but from the bottom of my heart, I wanted to force that guy to back down.

 

 そのために僕は、この試合絶対に勝たなければならない!

For that, I absolutely must win!

 

「はぁー!」

“Haa!”

 

――――ガンッ!

‘Gashi!’

 

 ディーンの大剣を弾き飛ばし、怯んだ隙に胴に向かって突きを繰り出した。

Knocking away Deen’s greatsword, I used the opening to slash at his torso.

 

「ガハッ!」

“Gaha!”

 

 突きの衝撃でディーンは後ろへ吹っ飛び、少し遅れて

The impact of the stab<q>a better fencing term?</q> sent him flying, and a little later,

 

――――カラン!

‘Karan!’

 

 と、木剣が落ちる音が響いた。

The sound of the wooden sword falling was heard.

 

「勝者!アデルバート!よって剣士戦優勝者はアデルバート・アバークロンビー!!」

“Winner! Adelbert! The winner of the swordsman corps tournament is Adelbert Abercrombie”

 

――――ワァァァァァァ!

“Whoooooo!”

 

 審判の勝者宣言に会場に歓声が沸き起こる。

The referee announced the victor, and the stadium burst into cheering.

 

 僕はその宣言を聞いた後、倒れているディーンを気にせずにグラウンドを後にした。

After I heard the cheers, I left the fallen Deen and exited the grounds.

 

 だから気が付かなかった。

I had not noticed.

 

 僕が出した突きでディーンの鎧が凹み、白目を向いて気絶していた事に。

The thrust dented Deen’s armor, and he fainted, showing the whites of his eyes.

 

 それを僕が知るのは翌日の事だった。

I only found out the next day.

 

・軍人関係者専用観客席

Military personnel audience seating.

 

「…運ばれた」

“…It happened.”<q>help with this again, you guys did well last time…</q>

 

「運ばれたな」

“”It happened, didn’t it.

 

「運ばれたぞ」

“It occurred.”

 

「運ばれたのだが」

“It happened, but…”

 

「……ご…めん…なさ…い」

“… I’m… rea…lly.. sor…ry”

 

 俺、アドルフ、ブランドン、セレスティアの順で顔を引きつらせながら言う。

I, Adolf, Brandon, and Celestia<h>sacrifice grammar for speaking order</h> each spoke with cramped faces.

 

 エイミーは涙目で謝罪する。

Amy apologized, teary-eyed.

 

「ついに被害者が…」

“It’s another victim…”

 

 セレスティアは真っ青になりながら呟く。

Celestia muttered, with a pallid face.

 

 気持ちは分かる。

I understood the atmosphere.

 

 俺達も何時、被害者が出るか気が気でなかったのだ。

We all had been wondering when the next victim would appear.<q>dbl check</q>

 

 そして、最後の最後でついに被害者が出てしまった。

Then, at the very end of the end, a victim appeared.

 

 剣士隊副隊長が。

It was the vice-captain of the swordsman corps.

 

「明日は俺と、セレスティアの隊だな。頼むから速く補強魔法かけ直してくれ!」

“Tomorrow is mine and Celestia’s corps. Please hurry and re-cast the reinforcement magic!”

 

 アドルフが冷や汗をかきながらエイミーに詰め寄る。

Adolf drew closer to Amy, with cold sweat flowing.

 

 この時俺は思った。

At that time, I thought:

 

 予選出場免除でよかった!

‘We should not participate in the preliminaries!’

 

 隊長達には悪いと思いながらも、あんな凶器で部下を傷つけるよりよっぽどましだからだ。

Even if it would be hard for the captains, it would be worse for us to use such dangerous weapons and harm our subordinates.

 

その後、急いで予選で使う木製の武器に補強魔法をかけ直し、念入りに調べた俺達が眠れたのは、深夜になったのは言うまでもない。

After that, we hurriedly re-cast the reinforcement magic, and carefully inspected them, so it goes without saying that we slept late that night.

 

「ディーン大丈夫かな?」

“Is Deen alright?”

 

「まぁ、副隊長だから大丈夫じゃね?」

“Well, since he’s the vice-captain, he’s alright, isn’t he?”

 

 私達はアリスの友達3人を家に送り届けるために、貴族街に来ていた。

We accompanied Alice’s three friends home, arriving at the aristocratic district.

 

 どうやらこの3人貴族の出身らしい。

It seems that those three people were nobles.

 

 どうして使用人学校に行っているんだろう?

Then why do they go to the servant school?

 

「「「………」」」

“”… …””

 

 それにしても全く喋らないな。

At any rate, we didn’t talk at all.

 

 先刻、私変な事言ってないと思うんだけど。

Back then, I don’t think I said anything strange.

 

「あ…あの、黒騎士様」

“Uh, um, Black Knight-sama?”

 

 喋らないと思ったらアーシェという子が話しかけてきた。

Just when I thought we wouldn’t be talking, Ashe spoke.

 

「なに?」

“What is it?”

 

 私は普通に答えたつもりだったが、ビクッとなって俯いてしまった。

I had intended to respond normally, but she cast her eyes downward with a start.

 

 うっ、私怖いかな?

Uh, am I scary?

 

「あの、どうして貴族と平民が同じだと思うんですか?」

“That, why do you believe that nobles and commoners are the same?”

 

 アーシェが俯きながら質問してきた。

Ashe asked while looking downward.

 

 その内容に眉間を寄せる。

That matter caused her brows to furrow.

 

 クロードとアリスも似たような表情だ。

Claude and Alice had similar expressions.

 

 明らかに可笑しい質問だと思った。

I thought that it was clearly a question.

 

「……その口ぶりだと、君は平民を見下しているようだね」

“… That way of speaking, it’s as if you are looking down on commoners.”

 

 私はいつもの男性の低い声にドスをきかせていった。

I used my usual male voice and spoke in a threatening tone<h>sfx:dosu</h>.

 

 それに真っ青な顔をする3人。

At that, the faces of the three people paled.

 

「い、いえ!そう言う意味では……ただ身分は貴族の方が上であって、優先順位は当然貴族が先ですから…」

“N-,no! What I wanted to say was… having been elevated to the status of a noble, you would naturally put nobles first…”

 

 アーシェの言葉を聞きながら、改めて思った。

Hearing Ashes response, I contemplated it.

 

 貴族は平民を見下している。

Nobles look down on commoners.

 

「確かに身分差はある。それは事実だ。だけど、私は優先順位に関しては、その時の場合によって変わると思っている」

“Certainly, they were born in different circumstances. That is true. As for the who comes first, it depends on the situation at the time.”

 

「え?」

“Eh?”

 

 私の言っている事が理解できないと言った感じでいるアーシェ達。

I feel like they didn’t understand what I said.

 

 コレは今までの固定観念による物だと思った。

I think that this is the prejudice up until now.

 

 貴族の中には彼女たちのような考えの人間が大半だ。

Most of the nobles thought like those three girls.

 

 自分達は貴族だから偉い。

They are nobles, so they are different.<q>Need to make sure everything is in present tense, where appropriate.</q>

 

 だから平民は下の存在だ。

That is why the commoners are a lower existence.

 

 そんな貴族がいるから、アーロンさんのような貴族嫌いが平民にはいると思った。

I think that because of those types of nobles, noble-haters like Aaron-san exist among the commoners.

 

 しかしこれからは、そんな考えでは駄目だ。

But from here on out, that way of thinking is no good.

 

 魔王が動き始めている以上、人間は助け合っていかなければならない。

The Demon Lord was beginning to stir, and humanity must work together.

 

 今までの考えでは貴族は平民を捨て、平民は貴族を捨てかねない。

Nobles can’t do without commoners, and commoners can’t do without nobles.

 

 そうならない為にも今から一歩ずつでも良いから、変えていかなければならない。

If we can take one step away from that, it would be good, since we must change.

 

 だから私は彼女達に言う。

That is why I said that.

 

 人間一人一人に価値は存在していないと。

Each and every person is a valuable existence.

 

「私達人間は平等だ。ただ生まれが貴族か平民かだけだ。私とコンラットみたいに平民出身で、貴族になった人間も多く居る。それでも私は平民を見下そうと思ったことは一度もない。彼らが居るから今の生活が成り立ち、私達貴族はそんな彼らと、共に住む国を守るために働いている。皆気が付かない内に助け合って生きて居るんだ。だから私は彼ら平民を尊敬している。彼らが居なければ私達は生きて行けないんだ。君達は使用人になるために学校に行っているんだよな?私が言っても説得力が無いかもしれないが、貴族社会だけでなく外の世界を確り見てみな?周りが見える人間になれば、使用人になった時きっと役に立つ。私はそう思っている」

“We are all equally human. We were only born as nobles or as commoners. People like Conrad and I were commoners at birth, and became nobility are many. Even then, I have never looked down on a commoner. It is because of them that we can live like this, and we nobles, like them, all work together to protect the country we live in. Everybody lives while cooperating with each other without noticing it. That is why I respect the commoners. We couldn’t live with out them. You three are attending servant school right? I might not have persuasive power, but outside of high society, have you truly observed the outside world? If you have observed your surroundings, it will be helpful for when you become servants. That is what I think.”

 

「「「………」」」

“”… …””

 

 私が言い終わった後、暗い顔をして黙った。

After I finished speaking, they were silent, with dispirited faces.

 

 キツイ言い方だったかもしれないが、彼女達にキチンと考えて貰う為にはこうするしかない。

It might have been harsh, but for them to understand my thoughts, it had to be done.<q>Kitchens?</q>

 

 本来異世界から来た私が言って良い言葉では無いかもしれないが、この世界で生きていく以上、良い国になって貰いたい。

Being a person from another world, I might not be saying it well, but beyond living in this world, I want to make this country better. <q>need to figure out how to use this. Not using it right… 貰いたい</q>

 

 今は私1人だけの考えだけど、国の皆にも考えて貰いたいと思っている。

Even if only I think like that now, I want everyone to receive my thoughts.

 

 難しい事は分かっている。

I know that it will be hard.

 

 地球でもそれはかなり難しい事だ。

Even on Earth, it was hard.

 

 所詮、綺麗事だ。

After all, it is just pretty words.

 

 それでも、1人ずつで良いから、皆が前に進めるように私は動く。

Even then, even one person at a time is good, since I, like everybody, will keep moving forward.

 

 それが黒騎士としてのやるべき事の一つだと、思うから。

I believe that is the one thing I should do as the Black Knight.

 

 平等……か。

Equal, huh…

 

 俺は3人を送り届けた後、そのままチエ達と別れ、平民街に借りてあるアパートの一室に戻った。

After I accompanied them home, I parted ways from Chie and the others, and returned to my apartment in the commoner district.

 

 ボロ家だが、俺にはちょうど良い。

It was a worn out building, but is perfect for me.

 

 家具も最低限の物しか置いていない、質素な部屋。

There furnishings were minimal, it was a simple room.

 

 そんな部屋でチエの言葉を思い出す。

I thought about Chie’s words in my room.

 

 今まで考えたこともなかった、平民と貴族が平等なんて。

Up until now, I had not thought that commoners and nobles were equal.

 

 チエやコンラットさんは別だけど、先刻の言葉を聞くまで貴族は平民を見下す物だと思っていた。

But apart from Chie and Conrad-san, I had thought that nobles looked down on commoners.

 

 アサシンやってたのも、そんな世界に俺は嫌気がさして、どうでも良くなっていたのも理由の一つだ。

As an assassin, I had become disgusted at the world, and I had one reason to strive.

 

 もっと早くにチエに会っていたら、あんなクソッタレな事して無かったかもしれない。

If I had met Chie sooner, I may not have done such a shitty thing.

 

 何か、アイツ見てたら自分が恥ずかしくなる。

Somehow, when I look at that person, I feel ashamed.

 

 それと同時に、アイツの言っている事が現実になればいいとも思った。

At the same time, I believed that if that person’s words came true, it would be good.

 

 綺麗事だと思うと同時に、アイツとだったらそんな未来が作れると思えてくる。

Though I thought they were merely pretty words, I also believed in creating that future with that person.

 

 たく! アイツ一体どんな国で育ったんだよ!

Geez! What type of country was that guy brought up in?

 

 家族の話は聞くが、国の話は全く聞かねぇし。

I heard of her family, but I had not been told about her country.

 

 ………。

… …

 

 まぁいいや、アイツが変えようとしているのはこの国だ。

Well, whatever. that guy will change this country.

 

 それを手伝ってやることが、今俺がやるべき事なのかもしれない。

Right now, I should probably help her with that goal.<q>check</q>

 

 たった1人の親友と一緒に歩むために。

I will walk with my one close friend.

 

To be continued

つづく<h>originally in English… I am only half joking about leaving it like this for the same effect…</h>

 

あとがき

Afterword

第21話お送りしました!

I have delivered Chapter 21!

 

一応剣士隊の話なんですが、剣士隊の話少な!

It was more or less the swordsman corps chapter, but the swordsman corps were only talked about a little!

 

書き終わって、ようやく気が付きました……。

After I finished writing, I noticed it…

 

今回はチエとクロードが平民にどう思われているのかや、アデルバートの心の内、貴族の平民への考え、又は平民の貴族への考え、チエとクロードの考えを、何時もより短い文章ですが、まとめさせていただきました。

This time, we see how Chie and Claude think as commoners, Adelbert inner thoughts, the thoughts of nobles regarding commoners, and also the thoughts of commoners regarding nobles, each short, but all put together. Enjoy.

 

ギャグと若干シリアスな展開にしたつもりですが、如何でしたでしょうか?

The gag became slightly serious. How was it?

 

誤字は徐々に直していきます。

I will correct the mistakes slowly.

 

今後も波瀾万丈な展開にしていくことを目指しています。

I aim to have dramatic developments after this.

 

これからもこの小説をよろしくお願いいたします!

Please treat this novel well from here on!


 

I hope to have a  chapter of YnO next week, but don’t expect one this week. Sorry.

3 thoughts on “Kuro Kishi (KK)21

Leave a comment